Manage user roles

Updated on 20-October-2016 at 10:16 AM

Business Catalyst End of life announcement - find out more details.

Logging in to a Business Catalyst Admin Panel, you can have full access over every feature associated with the respective site plan , or, possibly, you could only see the Pages section, being able only to add and edit new pages, and not to delete any.
These differences are caused by the User Roles associated with each admin account.

User roles are defined in Admin > Site Settings > User Roles and control every aspect related to what an admin user can or cannot see and do. These options range from accessing specific areas of the Admin Area, all the way to restricting access via FTP, disabling access to e-mail accounts and admin users, and more.

Important: Every administrator account must have at least One user role assigned. Assigning multilpe roles is managed in a cumulative manner, meaning that if, for example, out of two user roles assigned to a specific admin account, access to Pages section is restricted in one role, but allowed in the other, that admin user will Have Access to the Pages Section in the end.

User Roles and Workflows

User Roles are tightly connected to Workflows. Here's a real life scenario: A support agent will have to be notified whenever a visitor submits a form asking for assistance. The process in such a secnario would be the following:

  1. Create an admin account for the support agent
  2. Assign a User Role for the admin account (eg: "Support Agents")
  3. Create a workflow to send a notification to the Support Agents User Role
  4. Assign that workflow to a contact webform
  5. Publish the form on a page

Basically, user roles tell Workflows who to notify each time a specific event is triggered (submission of form, order of product, subscribe to event, etc). This way, each time you'll want a new agent to be included in a complex process, it will pretty much come down to simply assigning him a specific User Role. He'll them start receiving workflow notifications associated with his new user role.

Learn everything about Workflows .