Email notifications for sensitive site changes

Updated on 20-October-2016 at 10:16 AM

Business Catalyst End of life announcement - find out more details.

Business Catalyst keeps track of updates to sensitive areas such as Payment Gateways, Admin Users, User Roles and User Details and informs the site Admins or Partner users whenever these areas are edited.

Here's a description of each e-mail, complete with the events that trigger them and the list of recipients for each scenario.

Payment Gateway (only for paid sites)

When is this sent?

This notification is sent if any change is brought to the Payment Gateway settings page (/Admin/Catalogues_Merchant.aspx).

To whom is this sent?

For sites paid by partners, the e-mail is sent to:
- Email addresses from Partner Portal > Settings > partner settings AND Partner Portal > Settings > Contact Details

For sites paid by customers, the e-mail is sent to:
- Email addresses from Partner Portal > Settings > Partner Settings AND partner portal > Settings > Contact details
- All admin users that have Administer System permissions ( NOT to Email Only users )
- The billing owner

What will the mail look like?

<strong>Email from address</strong>: info@businesscatalyst.com
<strong>Email subject</strong>: Recent changes in your site sitename.businesscatalyst.com
<strong>Email body</strong>:

Greetings, 
The following payment gateway settings have been modified for your site:
Payment Gateway: PayPal
Country: United States
We consider this to be an important change to your account, so we notify you about it to make sure your account remains secure.
This change was made on 12-Mar-2014 by John Smith.
If the change described above is correct, no action is needed. If it isn't and/or especially if you consider it to be done with malicious intent, please contact our Support Team at: 
http://businesscatalyst.com/contact 

The Adobe Business Catalyst team. 
http://www.businesscatalyst.com/
Adobe(r) Business Catalyst 2004-2015, All Rights Reserved

Admin User permissions changed (only for paid sites)

When is this sent?

This notification is sent if a user is added or updated (or deleted) with a role that contains either of the following permissions:
Administer system, Manage users or Manage roles.

To whom is this sent?

For sites paid by partners, the e-mail is sent to:
- Email addresses from Partner Portal > Settings > Partner Settings AND Partner Portal > Settings > Contact Details

For sites paid by customers, the e-mail is sent to:
- Email addresses from Partner Portal > Settings > Partner Settings AND Partner Portal > Settings > Contact Details
- All admin users that have Administer System permissions (do NOT send emails to Email Only users - specify this explicitly in the code)
- The billing owner

What will the mail look like?

<strong>
Email from address</strong>: info@businesscatalyst.com
<strong>Email subject</strong>: Recent changes in your site sitename.businesscatalyst.com
<strong>Email body</strong>:
Greetings, 
User roles for the following admin user has been modified on your site: 
User: John Smith
We consider this to be an important change to your site, so we notify you about it to make sure your account remains secure.
This change was made on 12-Mar-2014 by Mark Anderson.
If the change described above is correct, no action is needed. If it isn't and/or especially if you consider it to be done with malicious intent, please contact our Support Team at:
http://businesscatalyst.com/contact 
The Adobe Business Catalyst team. 
http://www.businesscatalyst.com/
Adobe(r) Business Catalyst 2004-2015, All Rights Reserved

User Role changes - (only for paid sites)

When is this sent?

This notification is sent if a role has been added or changed (or deleted) AND if the affected role includes ANY of these 3 permissions: administer system, manage users or manage roles.

To whom is this sent?

For sites paid by partners, the e-mail is sent to:
- Email addresses from Partner Portal > Settings > Partner Settings AND Partner Portal > Settings > Contact Details

For sites paid by customers, the e-mail is sent to:
- Email addresses from Partner Portal > Settings > Partner Settings AND Partner Portal > Settings > Contact Details
- All admin users that have Administer System permissions (do NOT send emails to Email Only users - specify this explicitly in the code)
- The billing owner

What will the mail look like?

<strong>Email from address</strong>: info@businesscatalyst.com
<strong>Email subject</strong>: Recent changes in your site sitename.businesscatalyst.com
<strong>Email body</strong>:
Greetings, 
The users or permissions for the following role have been modified: 
User Role: [User Role Name]
We consider this to be an important change to your site, so we notify you about it to make sure your site remains secure.
This change was made on 12-MAR-2014 by John Smith .
If the change described above is correct, no action is needed. If it isn't and/or especially if you consider it to be done with malicious intent, please contact our Support Team at:
http://businesscatalyst.com/contact 

The Adobe Business Catalyst team. 
http://www.businesscatalyst.com/
Adobe(r) Business Catalyst 2004-2015, All Rights Reserved

My Details changed - Any site

When is this sent?

This notification is sent whenever any field has been changed on the My Details page.

To whom is this sent?

This notification is only sent to the user who's details were edited.

What will the mail look like?

<strong>Email from address</strong>: 
* sites of non-rebranded partners: info@businesscatalyst.com
* sites of rebranded partners: partner email (as set in PP > Settings > Partner Settings)
<strong>Email subject</strong>: Recent changes in your account on site sitename.businesscatalyst.com
<strong>Email body</strong>:
Hello John Smith, 
Your account details have been modified. This includes one or more of first name, last name, email address, password recovery email address, cell number, default site, default language, landing page, weekly report settings, profile picture, bio, or your password.
We consider this to be an important change to your account, so we notify you about it to make sure your account remains secure.
This change was made on 12-Mar-2014.
If the change described above is correct, no action is needed. If it isn't and/or especially if you consider it to be done with malicious intent, please contact our Support Team at:
[non-rebranded] http://businesscatalyst.com/contact 
[rebranded] partner email (as set in PP > Settings > Partner Settings) 

The [Partner Name] team. 
[partner url]
[Partner Name] 2004-2015, All Rights Reserved