How to cancel or delete a site

Updated on 20-October-2016 at 10:16 AM

Business Catalyst End of life announcement - find out more details.

After upgrading and launching a site, you can cancel and delete the site at any time. The workflow to delete a site depends on how you paid for the site:

Warning: Ensure that you have backed up your site content and customer information before canceling a site.

Business Catalyst partner

To cancel a site, this is handled by you directly from within your Partner Portal > My Sites - choose site (click on the name of the site) & select to 'Delete' this site. Please ensure you action this at least 2 days prior to the next hosting renewal invoice date to ensure no further hosting invoices are processed.

Site administrator - direct billing

a) If the site is set to invoice your BC Partner, please contact them to request the cancellation.

b) If the site is set to invoice you directly, you are able to cancel your site through the site administration area:

1. Login to your site admin area (e.g.: http://yourcustomersitedomain.com/admin) using your admin user email

2. Go to Site Settings

3. Go to Site Management

4. Select to Delete your site

No further invoices will process & the site will be deleted irretrievably off our system. Therefore, can you please ensure that you download any required data and re-delegate the domain elsewhere, prior to this date. If you require assistance with this, please either contact your BC Partner direct or submit a ticket.

IMPORTANT: Your next hosting invoice is due to automatically charge the credit card we have on secure file on the scheduled renewal date & therefore to avoid this charge being processed, please ensure you action the site cancellation following the instructions above at least 2 days prior to this date. If you do so, the invoice will automatically delete & not charge.

Note: There are no refunds for pre-paid hosting fees when a site is cancelled.

If your site has outstanding invoices, login to your site admin area http://yoursitename.businesscatalyst.com/Admin with an admin user email. A popup screen will appear, advising which invoices need payment. Go to the link "I don't need the site anymore. Delete site" at the bottom of the screen.

Creative Cloud subscriber

If you purchased a Creative Cloud membership on or before April 30, 2015, your subscription includes hosting for up to five webHosting sites. You can delete one of your launched sites as follows.

  1. Log in to the admin of your site by entering your site URL in a web browser, followed by /admin.

    Enter your Adobe ID and password, and then click Sign In.

    Note: Ensure you login with your Adobe ID registered for Creative Cloud.

  2. Select Site Settings > Site Management, and then click Delete Site.

  3. Enter your Creative Cloud email address and password, and then click Continue.

  4. Click Delete Site.

Delete a trial site

 Follow the below steps to delete your trial site.

  1. Log in to the admin of your site by entering your site URL in a web browser, followed by /admin.

    Enter your Adobe ID and password, and then click Sign In. 

  2. Select Site Settings > Site Management, and then click Delete Site.